South Dakota EMS Association

To strengthen patient care in South Dakota through advocacy, education, and representation of EMS providers.


Log in

2023 SDEMSA Conference Award Winners

01 Nov 2023 11:38 AM | Stella Meier (Administrator)

The South Dakota Emergency Medical Services Association (SDEMSA) Conference is an annual gathering of dedicated professionals in the field of emergency medical services. It serves as a platform to recognize and celebrate outstanding individuals and organizations that go above and beyond in their commitment to saving lives and improving healthcare. This year, the 2023 SDEMSA Conference has seen some remarkable recipients of prestigious awards and honors.

Sue Schuurman's Memorial Award

The Sue Schuurman's Memorial Award is a tribute to the memory of a dedicated EMS advocate. This award allows recipients to purchase essential equipment for their squads. We are thrilled to announce that this year's winner is Sturgis Ambulance, who will use the award to acquire equipment designed to improve the administration of IVs to children. Their dedication to enhancing pediatric care deserves commendation.

EMS Instructor of the Year

This award is presented to an EMS Instructor who has shown unwavering dedication and commitment to providing EMS education in the state of South Dakota. We proudly acknowledge Travis Spier as the recipient of the EMS Instructor of the Year award. His tireless efforts in educating and training future EMS professionals have made a significant impact on the industry.

Lifetime Membership

Lifetime Membership is a prestigious recognition for individuals who have demonstrated exceptional dedication and service to the SDEMSA over a period of 15 years or more. This year, we celebrate the accomplishments of five exceptional members: Brenda Sinning, Ron Carlson, JD Geigle, Shawn Fischer, and Bonnie Nelson. Their commitment to the association and their communities is truly remarkable.

Paramedic of the Year

Chad Madsen's excellence in patient care, advocacy, professionalism, and continuous commitment to professional education have earned him the well-deserved title of Paramedic of the Year. His dedication to patients and his colleagues exemplifies the highest standards of EMS practice.

EMT of the Year

Scott Larson's exceptional patient care, advocacy, professionalism, and dedication to ongoing professional education have made him a role model for all EMTs. He is a shining example of what it means to be the EMT of the Year.

Military Medic of the Year

The Military Medic of the Year Award honors the extraordinary achievements of military medics who excel in the performance of emergency medicine, particularly in theater patient care. We proudly congratulate Sargent Rachel Hobbs for her remarkable service. 

Volunteer EMS Service of the Year

Volunteer EMS services are the backbone of many communities, providing essential care without hesitation. This year, we applaud Plankinton Ambulance and Leola Ambulance for their dedication as Volunteer EMS Services of the Year.

Career EMS Service of the Year

Lennox Ambulance, predominantly staffed by career professionals, is recognized as the Career EMS Service of the Year. Their unwavering commitment to patient care and their community is inspiring.

President's Award

The President's Award is presented to those who have significantly contributed to furthering the goals and objectives of EMS in South Dakota. We are delighted to honor Margaret Farrel and Mikayla Titus for their outstanding dedication and service to the SDEMSA.

Appreciation + Gratitude Award

Amy Marsh receives the Appreciation + Gratitude Award, a recognition from the SDEMSA President for her remarkable contributions to the organization. Her selfless dedication is truly appreciated.

Sanford Health Trauma Wars

In the spirit of healthy competition, Rosebud Ambulance, Piedmont Ambulance, and Sturgis Ambulance showcased their skills and dedication in the Sanford Health Trauma Wars. Congratulations to Sturgis Ambulance for taking home the first-place trophy!

AirMethods Escape Room

Holly and Sloane impressed us all by conquering the AirMethods Escape Room, displaying teamwork and problem-solving abilities.

Congratulations to all the award winners at the 2023 SDEMSA Conference. Your dedication, commitment, and excellence in emergency medical services do not go unnoticed. Your contributions are the foundation of strong and resilient healthcare in South Dakota, and we salute your unwavering efforts. Thank you for all that you do to make our communities safer and healthier.

To strengthen patient care in South Dakota through advocacy, education, and representation of the EMS provider. 

Contact Us                  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software